flying low #7: under the same sky

Do you not have enough angsty romance AMVs in your life? Do you lose sleep at night because, gosh darn it, you NEED to see another high school love story unfold over the course of three and a half minutes? Do you have an unspoken adoration for Norwegian pop singers named Marit? Because I know my readership well and that all of you have emphatically answered “Yes” to all of these questions, I have a treat for you in the form of msteapot‘s entirely adorable video Under The Same Sky. I know, I know — it’s a little weird that three such specific desires of yours are all fulfilled in a single video but hey, the world works in inexplicable ways sometimes.

Joking aside, you know that feeling you get when you meet someone new and you kinda like them, and then you spend time with them and before you know it you’re completely head-over-heels for them? Besides being an apt metaphor for Blue Spring Ride and the development of this video in general, it really illustrates my personal relationship with this AMV. I knew I had discovered a hidden gem when I first watched this, and before long I realized it was a total diamond-in-the-rough.

It doesn’t do anything novel, but if you’re a frequent reader of this blog and keep up with my entries, you know that I can eke enjoyment out of the most mundane and unoriginal ideas, if they’re executed well enough. This is one of those videos — you’ve seen it before, but it doesn’t matter, because all the jagged edges and imperfections fit together in just such a way that makes the whole all the more memorable. Some editors can just do “unoriginal” better. msteapot certainly can, or at least she did with this video.

It’s worth mentioning, as longs as it’s slightly relevant, that Blue Spring Ride is an anime worth watching. I’m not afraid to admit my fascination with and general enjoyment of high school romance dramas, or shoujo anime in general, so I was already pretty predisposed to liking it, but I would recommend it. It scratched the itch that Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun couldn’t and that Lovely Complex did scratch but made me feel like a worse person for allowing it to. This video pretty well sums up the series, or at least the vibe you’ll get from watching it.

Whether you watch Blue Spring Ride or not, watch this video. It’s exactly what you’re looking for, remember?

Odd but necessary footnote: If you watch this video, either watch it on YouTube or use a third-party service to download the video directly from YouTube (if you must have it on your HDD). The .org entry has a weird framerate issue that severely detracts from the quality of the video (looks like a frame is missing ever five frames or so — it’s really stuttery).

About crakthesky

Mid-20s and vocal about my subculture.
This entry was posted in amv, flying low and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

